Skip to content


The All-Party Parliamentary Group (APPG) on Wellbeing Economics is an officially recognised cross-party group of MPs and Lords in the UK Parliament.

Formed in March 2009, it exists to:
– Provide a forum for discussion of wellbeing issues and public policy in Parliament;
– Promote enhancement of wellbeing as an important government goal;
– Encourage the adoption of wellbeing indicators as complimentary measures of progress to GDP;
– Promote policies designed to enhance wellbeing.

To forward the group’s agenda, its members have tabled Early Day Motions about wellbeing; tabled questions to, and held debates with, Government Ministers; and held a number of successful speaker meetings with leading policy makers, academics, think tanks and NGOs.

The New Economics Foundation provides the secretariat to the group.

The officers are the group are:

Co-Chair: Jon Cruddas MP
Co-Chair: Baroness Claire Tyler
Vice-Chair: David Lammy MP
Vice-Chair: Sir Peter Bottomley MP
Vice-Chair: Lord Richard Layard
Vice-Chair: Lord Gus O’Donnell
Treasurer: Helen Goodman MP
Secretary: Caroline Lucas MP

Other group members are:

Diedre Brock MP
Zac Goldsmith MP
Patrick Grady MP
Kelvin Hopkins MP
Lord Howarth of Newport
Graham Allen MP
Lord Leslie Turnberg
Lord Stone of Blackheath
Chris White MP
Lord Denis Tunnicliffe
Baroness Lister of Burtersett
Lord Bruce Grocott

The membership of the group is restricted to Members of the House of Commons and the House of Lords; however, if you want to keep informed of the group’s activities, please subscribe to our mailing list.

The New Economics Foundation provided the funds for this website’s domain name and the associated mapping and they maintain the site. The content for the site was originally authored by the office of Jo Swinson MP. The group’s full Parliamentary register can be found here


%d bloggers like this: